Time Lapse

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I’ve been here before
I swear I know this place
But when I to the mirror go
I do not know this face

Isn’t that girl dead
God, how pale that skin
the graveyard dirt upon her
Tells you where she’s been

Who has dug her up?
Where’s the master’s strings?
But no, he’s gone inside her
He puppeteers her skin!

He’s clacking at her jaws
And making up a voice
Laying her upon a bed
Pretending it’s her choice

But when there is no soul
The eyes cannot be faked
One man looks right into them
And that is a mistake

A hand comes up her throat
Grabs his neck and chokes
Slithers from her body
And back to hell it goes

I wake up in my bed
A body on my floor
The lapse in time is over
Police are at my door

3 thoughts on “Time Lapse

Leave a Reply

