Persephone Grown

Image courtesy of LE2PAGE at FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image courtesy of LE2PAGE at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Mother, I have eaten the pomegranate seeds
You told me not to
But they were red as lips that needed kissing
They were fragile, begging to hide
In the cavern of my mouth

Mother, I have lain in Hades’ bed
You told me not to
But he was cold as ice that needed melting
He was still, his silent heart
Drawn to the music of mine beating

Mother, I have grown into a woman
You told me not to
But the seeds were red as blood, dead hearts
Hid in icy caverns, and I was more than ready
To make my own decisions

One thought on “Persephone Grown

Leave a Reply

