Voices

Image courtesy of hyena reality atFreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image courtesy of hyena reality atFreeDigitalPhotos.net

I heard a woman crying
as if her child was dead
I wanted to console her
But she was in my head
I really tried to find her
It seemed completely real
I remember vividly
The way it made me feel
I wanted her to stop
I couldn’t stand the noise
Others stood unmoving
They couldn’t hear the voice
I thought they were ignoring her
I stared in disbelief
To know this wasn’t so
Brings a strange relief
My mind is playing tricks
It’s trying to betray me
Whispers crowd around
Asking who will save me
Images respond
As if in lucid dreaming
I think that they will happen
I feel that they have meaning
Either I’m a seer
Knowing what must come
Or living in the past
Where what is done is done
A time machine that takes me
Anywhere but here
Deposits me in moments
Filled with rage and fear
I get completely lost
The time machine is broken
What has really happened?
Which of us has spoken?
Who is still alive?
Who will soon be dead?
What will stop this madness
Spinning in my head?

2 thoughts on “Voices

Leave a Reply

