Too Old for Wonder

I broke through the looking glass
Cut my knees on jagged shards
Beside an empty frame

Stood up dazed in my room
Blood trickling down my legs
Reality as raw as it can be

Searched instead for a rabbit hole
Found it in a graveyard
Filled up with time and time no more

I got to my knees and clawed the dirt
Looked for innocence, childhood, wonderland
Found my own pale corpse

Laughed like a hatter mad, a hare in march
Swallowed pills to no effect
Then buried my corpse where only I could find her

book-1558780

2 thoughts on “Too Old for Wonder

Leave a Reply

