To Prove that I am Human

Stronger than you know
Although you call me weak
My shoulders hold the earth sometimes
I stand and grit my teeth

I still hold out my hand
Although my flesh is maimed
And though my blood is dripping
I still take the blame

Weaker than you know
Although you call me strong
I sell myself out secretly
Pretend that I belong

I pry myself apart
Divide my crawling skin
Dig deep down inside to prove
That I’m the same within

I carve into the fat
Slice the muscle open
It seems that am human
Just as I was hoping

No strange anatomy
No shadow living under
Just a woman hurting
Who has torn herself asunder

Neither strong nor weak
Stitched up like a doll
A day or two of rest
Before my skin begins to crawl

One thought on “To Prove that I am Human

Leave a Reply

